Gluten Free in Portland, Maine

I attended a museum conference in Portland two weeks ago and fell in love with the city. I had been before but had always driven through quickly between Kittery and Freeport. This time my conference was for three days. I booked an AirBnb room and drove up the night before the conference started. I brought food from home, but there were so many gluten free options that I would have been ok if I hadn’t brought anything.

The Green Elephant
http://greenelephantmaine.com/
Delicious vegetarian restaurant with great gluten free options. I ordered the pad thai without tofu (soy intolerance) and pumpkin tapioca (made with coconut milk) for dessert. Yum!

Bam Bam Bakery
http://www.bambambakery.com/
This was the best place ever! Bam Bam Bakery is a dedicated gluten free facility with rows and rows of gluten free goodness. My conference served the worst food, so I walked down the street to this gem everyday. I had apple squash soup, quiche, barbecue chicken pizza, and chicken pot pie. They had all sorts of cookies, cakes, and breads. My favorite thing was their cinnamon roll. They also had good coffee and did a big business selling lattes to non-gf customers. It is a big, sunny, friendly space–if I lived there, I’d be there all the time with my laptop or a good book.

The Holy Donut
http://www.theholydonut.com/
They make their gluten free donuts with potato flour and have a dedicated gluten free fryer and cooking implements. They said that the local Celiac support group meets there. I got four and ate part of one. The next day I woke up really sick, so I think there was still a little too much cross contamination for my system.

I wish I had more time to explore. There were so many good places!

Leave a Reply

