Chocolate Candy

Chocolate is illegal on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet. When I first started it, I did not eat any. However, I reached a point where I felt well enough to reintroduce it to my diet. I know, though, that I still could not digest sugar and nearly all chocolates are made with cane sugar. But, honey is legal. I decided to try making my own. Here’s my recipe:

1/2 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup cocoa powder (or cacao)
1 T. honey
1 t. vanilla

Use a double boiler set up. Melt the coconut oil and then mix in everything else until well-combined. Then pour onto a silpat or into a mold. Place in freezer for about 10 minutes until the chocolate sets up.

Goes perfectly with a glass of raw milk (also not allowed on SCD, but I’m a rebel).

Variations include using unsweetened dark chocolate, often sold in bulk at local co-ops. Mine sells Callebaut, which is very good. Chop up and put in the double boiler with honey and vanilla.

You can also use cocoa butter/cacao butter instead of coconut oil. This makes a more traditional type of chocolate bar.

I have also made almond butter cups with this chocolate.

 

Almond Butter Cups
Leave a Reply

