Chicken and Veggie Curry

A Cozy Sunday Supper

This is one of my favorite meals and as you can see from the text below, I kind of wing it–this isn’t a true “recipe”. So . . . let me know if you have any questions!

Start out with a medium saucepan on high heat. Melt a few tablespoons of coconut oil or ghee. Add 1 diced white onion and 2 grated garlic cloves. (1 inch grated ginger optional.) Let cook for a few minutes until onions soften and just barely start to brown. Add carrot slices and any other veggies you like in a curry. Sometimes I add cauliflower bits too. This time I only added carrots, peas, and butternut squash–all things I had in prepped in my freezer.

Carrots and VegLet cook for about 5-7 minutes at medium-high heat. Add 1 cup plain yogurt (I used homemade yogurt). I also added 1/4 cup extra thick coconut milk. At this time, I also grated in a little bit of orange zest. This is also the magical moment when I put in the curry blend. I use The Teeny Tiny Spice Company’s British Curry blend. You can use 1-3 tablespoons, depending on how spicy you like your curries . . . I don’t like mine to be too spicy so I only add about 1.5. I had roasted a chicken two nights prior, so I cut off some of the meat and added it to the curry. Then turn down the heat to low and let everything sit and cook for about 20 minutes. Almost done . . .Other times when I have made this, I have cooked the onions and garlic first, added raw chicken and curry spices, brown it, add coconut milk/yogurt, veggies, let cook on low for 20 minutes, but because I already had chicken cooked and needed to use it up, I altered the recipe to accommodate my needs. If you think it is too thick and want it a little thinner, add a little chicken stock. If you want it a little thicker, add a little more extra thick coconut milk. You can serve it with rice (cook it with a few cardamom pods in the rice cooker for a little extra flavor) or celeriac (celery root) rice–I’ll post that recipe in a bit.

Chicken Curry with Celeriac Rice
Chicken Curry with Celeriac Rice

I hope you enjoy making (and eating) this curry recipe as much as I do! It is great if you live in an area that does not have an Indian restaurant, or you do but it isn’t very good, or if they do not understand what gluten cross contamination is (like mine). I just had to add that last bit–it’s my big pet peeve. Sorry! I was trying to end on a positive note!!

Leave a Reply

