Trying out Grain Free with the Specific Carbohydrate Diet

Last winter I felt sluggish and tired, so I tried something new. In the spring, I changed my diet significantly. I cut out all grains and sugars, walked four miles a day, and lost over 30 pounds. In mid-August, I slowly reintroduced gluten free grains back into my diet. Whole grains first, then starches, then sugars.

Big mistake.

The migraines started almost immediately. I had a series of migraines nearly everyday from mid-September until the end of October. After a series of doctor visits, acupuncture, seeing an energy healer, and trying an anti-inflammatory diet, I think I have finally figured it out.

I need to thank my naturopathic doctor, Sarah Wylie, for her help, patience, and support. I see her every month for Mayan abdominal massage and cranial sacral work. She suggested that the issue could be SIBO: Small Intestine Bacterial Overgrowth. You can read all about it here: http://www.siboinfo.com.

What I imagine the nasty gut bacteria look like.

The diet used to treat SIBO is SCD: Specific Carbohydrate Diet. No grains or starches, no sugar except honey. It helps to restore the health of the small intestine after years of damage. It is drastic, but it works.

This won’t last forever. At some point, I will be able to introduce more grains back into my diet, but for now, this blog will have a paleo/SCD focus. I’ll share recipes and cooking adventures as I experiment with grain free cooking–vegetable pasta, nut flours, honey caramels–doesn’t it all sound fun and delicious? Here are some images of the good stuff I’ve been cooking lately.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

