Creamy Dill Potato Salad

I am succeeding at not eating out. I have planned out all my meals for the week and am sticking to it! Last night I had grilled chicken, lightly cooked freshly picked green beans, and creamy dill potato salad. Today I did eat out, but it was for a cooking class, and I only had salad, so I think it does not really count. Later tonight I am going to make brown rice bowls using leftover grilled chicken, cilantro, black beans, and cherry tomatoes.

Last night’s dinner was a success–especially the potato salad. I have never been a huge fan of potato salad. When I was in high school, I loved German Potato Salad, which is mayon-less and is filled with a yummy acidic apple cider vinegar and bacon flavor. I stopped eating bacon at some point, and the salad lost its appeal. Grocery store deli potato salad always seems too mayonnaise-y–really gross. A few weeks ago I had lunch at Sweet Clover Market in the Essex Outlets. I got a little bit of coleslaw, potato salad, and chicken salad and ate everything out of deli containers sitting in their little garden next to the creemmee window. It was so good. This is my attempt to duplicate the dilly potato salad.

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup mayo (preferably homemade)

1/3 cup plain greek yogurt

1 t dijon mustard

2 T chopped fresh dill

1/4 t celery seed

3 large red skin potatoes

1 small onion

Boil potatoes until just barely cooked through. Pour cider vinegar over potatoes. Set aside and put in fridge to cool. When they have cooled, remove skins, and cut into small chunks. Dice a small onion. A red onion works best, but any will do.

Mix dressing in a bowl or jar. Pour over potatoes and onions, mix, cover, and put into fridge until ready to serve. The more they sit, the stronger the dill flavor will be.

Dill Potato Salad

Leave a Reply

