Farm Share #3 Meal Ideas

Arctic Char, Salad with Garlic Scape Dressing

Dinner
Arctic char with salad

This week’s CSA share: broccoli, cucumbers, cute little onions, lettuce, spinach, napa cabbage + other stuff + leftover veggies from last week including garlic scapes. This is what I made last night: arctic char with salad. I had bought arctic char several weeks ago and stuck it in the freezer, not really knowing what to do with it. I decided that it was similar enough to salmon that I could look for a good salmon marinade recipe to use. I found one online that looked like a contender and then adapted it to use my veggies. This is what I threw in the ziplock bag for marinading: gluten free soy sauce (I use liquid aminos), sesame oil, sunflower oil, diced mini-onions and garlic scapes. I made a few slits in the fish and then let it sit in the fridge for about two hours. I started up the grill and cooked it skin side down for about 10 minutes before flipping it and cooking it for about 5-8 minutes on the other side. The skin got really crispy and delicious.

For the salad, I used fresh greens and cucumbers and threw in two thinly sliced radishes. IMG_2810My friends gave me a ton of eggs (like 4.5 dozen) a few weeks ago, so I have been trying my best to use them up. Homemade mayo and salad dressings are so nice. I’ve been experimenting with methods and kitchen appliances to find the best ways to make a good mayo. I have used an immersion blender and a regular blender. They didn’t get thick enough, so I don’t know exactly what I am doing wrong. This time I put one egg yolk in the blender with a bit of sea salt and turned it on. Then I added the mustard, red wine vinegar, and slowly added in some sunflower oil. It thickened up quite a bit. I also added fresh parsley and garlic scapes, roughly chopped, which turned the mayonnaise a pretty green color. I tossed the salad with this and then laid the fish on top. My god, it was good.

Salad dressing in blender
Garlic scape salad dressing

I hope to keep posting my meal creations using my CSA veggies each week. We also have a little garden, but it isn’t producing anything yet. Fingers crossed that it will be successful!

Leave a Reply

