Farmstead Cheese & Broccoli Soup

Veggies!
Exciting haul from my Elmer Farm CSA

Summer is finally here! I know that because my CSA has started. I have a membership at Elmer Farm in East Middlebury, right down the road. Yesterday I picked up my second share of the season: garlic scapes, mini-purple onions, zucchini, summer squash, three kinds of lettuce, spinach, and cilantro. I am starting to get back in the swing of instantly thinking about what I can make with all the veggies, planning how to swap out some ingredients in old recipes for the items picked up at the farm. For example, with the dinner I made last night, I used the purple mini-onions instead of basic white or yellow onions. I also incorporated their tops (those scallion like bits) and some garlic scapes too.

Farmstead Cheese & Broccoli Soup
Makes 3-4 servings

1 lb broccoli
1 c mini purple onions with tops (about 3)
3 garlic scapes
3 T butter
3.5 c chicken broth
.5 t dried oregano
1 T dijon mustard (I use Annie’s brand)
1/2 t salt
1 t pepper
1 T gluten free flour blend without xanthan gum (or just use brown rice flour)
.5 c milk
3 T heavy cream (optional)
1 c farmstead cheese (I like Orb Weaver or Plymouth cheese)

Cooking the veggies
Just before adding chicken broth

Roughly chop broccoli, onions, and scapes. Put them in a medium saucepan with the butter over medium heat. Cook for about 5 minutes.

Add dried oregano and chicken broth. Cook for about 20 minutes, until veggies are tender. Use an immersion blender or transfer to a regular blender and pulse until smooth. I used an immersion blender and wish I had put it in the regular blender. It came out a little too frothy and was not blended smoothly enough.IMG_2754

Once all blended, you can add mustard. You can also use some gluten free flour to thicken up the soup. But if you are trying to go grain free or don’t have any on hand, just leave it out. The soup is fine without it–just a little thinner.

Serving the soup
What a pretty color–it looked even prettier served in a Stacie Mincher Designs bowl

Then, the best part–add the milk, a little cream, and then the cheese! Grate a little to serve on top. 

Leave a Reply

