Breakfast Pizza

Just a quick word to suggest a late Sunday brunch idea. I love breakfast pizza. It is hot, cheesy, and sweet and get this–you can bake an egg on it! When you take it out of the oven, let it sit for a minute or two, and then cut it into slices. If you put the egg in the middle, each slice will get a little bit of the yolky yumminess.

I usually have a little leftover pizza dough in the fridge. Use that, or you can easily make up a batch. Here’s a good recipe: http://glutenfreeonashoestring.com/gf-pizza-dough/

Stretch the dough out on parchment paper on a baking sheet, freeform is easiest. You can also make small, individual pizzas.

Image

Use jam for a sauce. This would be a great way to use any jalapeño+fruit jam that you might have laying around. (I got a jar in my last G-Free Foodie box. When I first saw it, I couldn’t think of how to use it, but when I started looking online and thinking about it more, I’ve realized that there are many possibilities.)

For cheese, a smoked cheddar, brie, or chèvre work beautifully. Even cream cheese is a good option. I have layered thin slices of apples and pears with a sprinkling of cinnamon. Bake at 375 for 10-15 minutes. Then take out. Break open an egg in a small dish, then put the egg in the center of the pizza. Bake for 10 more minutes or until the egg is cooked. I like the whites to be firm and for the yoke to still be a bit runny.

Let sit for a few minutes, then slice, and enjoy. Happy sunny Sunday!

Leave a Reply

