Butterscotch Pudding

I was going to write a post about orange coconut cakes with citrus glaze (think Starbucks lemon pound cake) but before I could snap a picture of the finished product, I discovered that my normally well behaved dog had jumped up on the counter and eaten them! I was so upset with her but also with myself for not taking a picture and putting them far, far away before leaving the kitchen. They were so good I will make them again and promise to post the recipe and pictures. 

Instead of remaking the cakes, today I made butterscotch pudding and coconut whipped cream.

RECIPE
1 c light brown sugar
1/3 c tapioca starch
1 tbs molasses
3 c milk
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1 tbs butter
1 tsp vanilla

In a medium saucepan, combine 2 cups milk, brown sugar, tapioca starch, and molasses. You can skip the molasses if you use dark brown sugar. Wait until it is near boiling before tempering the eggs.

Put the eggs and one cup of milk in a small bowl or glass measuring cup. Temper the eggs by adding some of the hot milk and sugar mixture into the eggs. Then dump the egg and milk mixture into the pot. Let it thicken for a good 5-8 minutes. Add salt to taste. Then stir in the butter and vanilla after taking off heat.

Butterscotch Pudding-001

You can put the pudding in a big bowl. I like to make use of all those empty jam jars in the cabinet. Make sure you still have the lids before using them! These make perfect to go containers for packed lunches. Plus, they are cute. Butterscotch Pudding-002I also made coconut whipped cream to go on top. I used coconut sugar to sweeten it. It gave it a bit of a darker color a slight caramel taste.

Leave a Reply

