Bagels

At the end of my last post, I mentioned how I had started making bagels. Well, here is the end result. It wasn’t so good . . .

IMG_0006_2

I almost feel like writing the author of the cookbook to ask where I could have gone wrong, but I am too embarrassed. I am going to try again, making sure to follow the recipe exactly. The good news is that they tasted great–that’s what’s important, right? I could split them open and toast them–exactly what I have been missing about eating bagels. Unfortunately, they were not very pretty.

When I first shaped them for proofing, they looked pretty awesome:

IMG_0003_2

But when I took them out of the proofing container, they looked like this:IMG_0004_2     That one on the top–the one that looks normal–I had reshaped that one.

Lessons I learned from bagel making:

  • Do not use the dough hook–even though the cookbook author specifically says to use the dough hook. I’ve had better success using the paddle attachment.
  • Let rise in the fridge for LONGER than 12 hours
  • Make the holes bigger
  • Use instant yeast instead of active dry (The recipe says to use instant, but I didn’t have any. They don’t sell it at the Co-op.
  • Boil in molasses water for less time at a more steady, lower boil

Not sure when I will attempt this again–but I will be sure to let you know.

FYI–this recipe was from Gluten Free on a Shoestring Bakes Bread by Nicole Hunn.

Leave a Reply

