The Case of the Incredible Shrinking Banana Muffins

This morning I promptly made banana muffins when I woke up. Literally — I got out of bed and went straight to the kitchen. Using the King Arthur Flour gf banana muffin recipe, I switched it up by using homemade Better Batter flour blend instead of the usual brown rice, tapioca starch, and potato starch mixture. I also replaced one of the two eggs with flax. And oh my god, this turned out to be a crazy science experiment.

To replace an egg, use one tablespoon milled flax and three tablespoons hot water. It is amazing how quickly this mixture thickens up! Shockingly fast. I had read that you were supposed to wait ten minutes but it was more like three or even less.

The batter was so thick that it made the mixer work really hard, knocking the glass coffee pot off the counter!

I used my new mini loaf pan that I bought at The King Arthur Flour store in Norwich. I lined each loaf with parchment paper and used an ice cream scoop to distribute the batter. Each loaf took about two scoops.

After 25 minutes at 375 degrees, they were done. And BEAUTIFUL! They were huge and airy. I wish I had taken a picture. Something happened after about fifteen minutes, though. They deflated. When I went back into the kitchen they had shrunk. Still good, but noticeably smaller!

20131208-094552.jpg

20131208-094544.jpg

Leave a Reply

