A Note on Thanksgiving Prep

So . . . my family might be having Thanksgiving tomorrow instead of Thursday. Long story. We shall see what the storm brings tomorrow.

I got a late start today with my baking. I started this morning by trying out a new flour blend–Mock Better Batter. I found the recipe on Nicole Hunn’s Gluten Free on a Shoestring website. I think this is her favorite flour blend, but it is my first time trying it. It is a combination of white rice flour, brown rice flour, tapioca starch, potato flour, potato starch, xanthum gum, and powdered pectin. I had to quadruple the recipe to make enough for all the baking I needed to do today. I made my first batch of pie crust using the Mock Cup 4 Cup blend which has somewhat different ingredients (-potato flour, -pectin, +cornstarch, +dry milk powder).

Mixing pie dough in the Cuisinart is super easy.
Mixing pie dough in the Cuisinart is super easy.

After safely tucking the pie dough in the fridge, I made another batch with the Mock Better Batter. Later, I had a hell of a time rolling them out–everything kept sticking.

Why was rolling out SO difficult today?
Why was rolling out SO difficult today?

I made a small pumpkin pie and a large apple pie as well as about 6 rollie pollies, all of which I ate in lieu of lunch. FYI–they were delicious.

Last year we made gluten free stuffing using Kinnikinnik gluten free white bread. DISGUSTING. Well, maybe that is too strong of a word. Would “not appetizing” be better? After my recent success with croutons, I decided to cube a variety of gluten free bread I had in the freezer and toast in the oven today. Tomorrow I will use those toasted bread bits to make stuffing as usual. My mother took my grandfather on a short road trip this afternoon to get some turkey bacon from Dakin Farms to use in the stuffing. (I stopped eating pork a few years ago. We have been making the stuffing meatless for the past few years. My mom suggested adding chicken sausage, but I would have none of that, hence turkey bacon.)

I also made rolls! They just came out of the oven. I found the recipe on the Better Batter website. I cut the recipe in half, and I didn’t do the whole rolling out and folding over thing. Instead, I just scooped the batter into muffin tins and let rise for 30 minutes.

They are still hot and smell so good.

Fresh out of the oven
Fresh out of the oven

Tomorrow I will try a gluten free version of green bean casserole and homemade ice cream to eat with the pies.

Happy baking and happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

