November Book Club

Last winter I formed a book club that meets nearly every month. It has been so much fun! I love tasting what everyone brings. Everyone has been so incredible and inventive, bringing delicious food that is gluten free AND related to the book we read that particular month.

For November, we read one of Chris Bohjalian’s newest novels, The Night Visitors. It was about a family that moves to a rural town in northern New Hampshire where there is a coven of “herbalists” who set their eyes on this new family. We had a new member of our book club who is vegan, so everyone made the commitment to bring food that was both vegan and gluten free–a difficult task. I decided on sweet potato and apple soup. I didn’t use a recipe but I had gone online to make sure I was on the right track before moving forward. First, I chopped up some onion, shallots, garlic, and ginger and added it to the big stock pot with some coconut oil. Meanwhile, I prepared the sweet potatoes by cleaning and peeling them and then cutting them into smaller pieces. I added them to the pot and liked them cook for about 15 minutes or so. I peeled and cored about four apples and added them to the sweet potatoes to soften. I also added some spices–cinnamon and garam masala. Then I added a can of coconut milk and a container of coconut water and let it cook for a long time–about 30 minutes. When everything was cooked through, I used the stick blender thingy. I let it cool down and put it in a 1/2 gallon mason jar to bring to my meeting.

I also need to share what the other members brought to the party. Everything was so creative and inventive. Please excuse the poor quality of the photos–I used my phone to take them.

Leave a Reply

