Cinnamon Rolls

Last week I made cinnamon rolls with a thick powdered sugar glaze. They reminded me of eating out at Dog Team Tavern in New Haven where the first piece of food to be set in front of you were STICKY BUNS. They were to die for. When I was really young and a really picky eater, the main waitress used to give me two of them! The restaurant is no more, and because of my gluten sensitivity/allergy, I would not find it much fun to go there anyway now. Between the sticky buns, fresh bread, fritters, yummy croutons on the tossed salad, there would be very little I could actually eat. Making these rolls was a way for me to remember going there and also a reminder that not all gluten free breads are horrendous.

The recipe called for 1/2 cup buttermilk and 1/4 cup apple cider. I didn’t have either so I subbed in some buttermilk powder, cider vinegar, and water. I had to heat that up to about 110 degrees and then added 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tbs active dry yeast. That concoction had to sit for a few minutes to let the yeast activate.

In my Kitchenaid mixing bowl, I combined 2 3/4 cups cup4cup flour blend. Remember–that mixture already includes xanthum gum. I also added 2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp baking soda, and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. The recipe also called for 2 tbs melted butter and 2 tbs vegetable oil. I used coconut oil in place of canola oil, which I melted down with the butter in the microwave. Also add 1 egg and 1 egg white as well as 1 tsp vanilla. Mix until a dough forms. Then cover with plastic wrap and put in a warm spot for an hour. After an hour or so, it will almost double in size. Don’t stress about this—it will do what it will do. Don’t expect gf dough to act the same way regular dough does–it is different and less dramatic but you will notice that it has expanded.

After an hour, roll it out on the counter using some parchment paper. Form into a rectangle using tapioca flour or corn starch as your bench flour. Melt a few tablespoons of butter (more is better) and pour over the dough, massaging it in. Then mix together about a cup of brown sugar and granulated sugar with some cinnamon and chopped walnuts. You could go crazy here, coconut sugar or granulated maple sugar might be nice. Add some raisins or other dried fruit. Then the really fun part! ROLL IT UP! Be careful–it is sticky! Then cut it into 12 equal parts, about 2 tbs wide. Grease a muffin tin and fill each one up, cut side down. Cover and put in a warm place for another hour or so. (We are up to 2+ hours on this project already . . .)

When the hour is almost up, turn on the oven to 350 to preheat. Check to make sure the rolls have risen and put in the oven for about 15-20 minutes. Take them out of the oven. I was able to dump them onto a cooling rack right after taking them out. Wait for them to cool (yeah right) and make a powdered sugar glaze with about a cup of sugar, a tbs or so of milk, and a little but of vanilla extract. Play around with the amounts until you are happy with the consistency–I like my glaze a little thicker so I add less liquid and more sugar. Then drizzle over the cooled buns. They are delicious with a glass of milk or cup of coffee.

Note–the second time I made these, I left them too close to the edge of the counter when they were cooling. My dog ate maybe six of them. I was so mad and surprised–she is usually really good about NOT doing things like that.

Leave a Reply

