Pumpkins/Squash Muffins and Scones

It is really feeling like fall now. Most of the leaves are down, and the wind has kicked up. I heard a series of gunshots when I woke up this morning. It is some kind of hunting season out there, which means that every time we go out for a walk in the woods, Izzie needs to wear an orange vest. I try to wear something bright, but I never have that true “hunter’s orange” that you are supposed to wear. I remember when I was teaching, one of my former sixth grade students had just taken a hunter’s safety course and told me that my fluorescent pink LL Bean fleece jacket would just not do. I haven’t been shot at yet.

Our CSA is winding down, only maybe two more weeks to go. Each week, there are more and more squashes available to take. A few weeks ago I picked up an orange colored Hubbard squash–at least that’s what I think it was. We baked it for a while in the oven so that it could be used later. I made pumpkin muffins the next day, using the recipe that I picked up in my first King Arthur Flour gf baking class, which I took about a year ago. Here is a link to the recipe. I used that squash though, so I guess they are squash muffins, which I don’t think sounds as appetizing. I added a streusel topping to them. If you have never made a streusel topping, it is super easy. You can use plain flour, brown sugar, and butter, and cinnamon but I had some extra gluten free all purpose baking mix on hand so I used that in place of flour. Use a pastry cutter to blend everything better so that everything is pea-sized. Then add to muffins before putting them in oven.

Pumpkin Muffins-002Pumpkin Muffins-003 Pumpkin Muffins-005

This morning I woke up excited to bake. I wanted to make something out of a fancy gluten free baking cook book that I had bought at the King Arthur Flour store in Norwich. It has gorgeous pictures. The measurements are in metric and English and there are weights as well as cups/teaspoons, etc.

Pumpkin Scones-001

That’s one of my sister’s book clips at the top. Check out her website to see more of her creations.

I decided to make this: Pumpkin Scones (They are pumpkin scones with a maple syrup glaze. I opted to not do the maple glaze–wait until the end of this post to see what I did instead.) I wish I had a biscuit cutter with the ridged sides like that.

First, I ground up some almonds. Little did I know that ground up almonds are a major component of nearly every recipe in this book. Not sure how I feel about that. I don’t think I got them fine enough. It might be better to buy almond meal/flour from the co-op.

Pumpkin Scones-003

Next, I weighed out the squash.

Pumpkin Scones-005 And then cooked it in the microwave for about two minutes before putting it in the food processor and adding maple syrup, cinnamon, and vanilla.

Pumpkin Scones-006

I left the squash for a minute to get my flour mixture together. I put the almond meal in a mixing bowl and weighed out my flour blend on the scale. I had some preblended flour in the freezer–I used Gluten Free on a Shoestring‘s Better than Cup for Cup blend, but I didn’t have any dry milk powder, so I used dry buttermilk powder. That was not very smart of me because all  my baked goods have been turning out really dense and wet–still good, but just not exactly how they SHOULD be.

For this recipe, I weighed out the flour blend. I needed 350 grams but I only used about 275 grams of my flour mixture and then added millet flour until the scale reached 350. I don’t really have a good reason for why I did this, other than I have a pretty full container of millet flour that I need to use and it sounds like it is really good for you.

After combining the flours, I added a stick of butter and used a pastry blender to cut into the flour.

Pumpkin Scones-007

Next, I added the sugar (only 1/4 cup) and the squash mixture.

Pumpkin Scones-008 It was a really heavy batter.

Next, I put down a piece of wax paper and dusted it with tapioca starch to pat down the dough–no rolling pin needed!

Pumpkin Scones-009 I wish I had a fancy biscuit cutter like the author of the fancy gf cookbook, but I just had a regular one.

Pumpkin Scones-010 My mom says that I make biscuits and scones too thin. These turned out just right, I think. Bake at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes.

Then–this is the best part–I made a cinnamon glaze!!!!!!

Pumpkin Scones-012 Pumpkin Scones-013

Combine nearly a cup of powdered sugar with a bit of cinnamon, vanilla, and a tablespoon or so of hot water. Play around with it. The consistency could have been a tad thicker, but it was really good.

Pumpkin Scones-015Ta-da! Here is one with the drizzled glaze (so totally not enough) on a plate that I got in the clearance section of the Crate & Barrel Outlet in Kittery, ME and the beautiful Nestleberry napkin that my friends Michelle and Leo gave me as a going away present.

Make something pumpkin (or squash) soon–before the snow starts falling!

Leave a Reply

