Gluten Free Pasta

A few months ago, I took a gluten free pasta making class at Healthy Living Market. In the class, we made a basic pasta dough recipe and divided it in half. We cut the first half into strips for a wide fettuccine and the second half into circles for ravioli. It was a lot of fun–I highly recommend cooking classes at Healthy Living. Everyone had their own little station with all sorts of equipment and tools. Also, we all got to eat a bit of what we created and everyone brought home a huge bag full of food. Thanks to my friend Julie who convinced me that even though cooking classes seem expensive, they are a great value. About a year ago, we signed up together to take a gluten free baking class at King Arthur Flour in Norwich. At the end of the class, they actually give you bakery boxes to pack up all that you bake. It was really hard to drive the two hours home from Norwich with all the freshly baked yummy smelling muffins, bread, and scones in the back seat.

Gluten free pasta (made with quinoa) with a cheese, Italian sausage, roasted garlic, and lots of great herbs). With a salad with Elmer Farm veggies.
Gluten free pasta (made with quinoa)  made in the Healthy Living learning center class. Sauce made of cheese, Italian sausage, roasted garlic, and lots of great herbs). With a salad with Elmer Farm veggies.

Back to pasta. The pasta we made in the Healthy Living class was really amazing and I can’t believe I haven’t made it multiple times since taking the class. This was my first time! My sister, Stacie, had given me a pasta machine that she must have picked up at a garage sale or thrift store. It has been sitting on top of Izzie’s (my dog) crate in the living room for months, taunting me to finally use it. I decided to seize the day!

Here is the recipe:

3 oz. millet flour (buckwheat or quinoa also works) (a little less than 1/3 cup)

3 oz. white rice flour (sweet rice flour or potato flour also works) (about 1/3 cup)

3 oz. tapioca flour (about 1/2 cup)

4 tsp. xanthum gum

1 tsp. salt

3 large eggs (I used 2 but the recipe called for 3)

1 tbsp. vegetable oil

1-2 tbsp. water

A note about the flours:

Thankfully, I have a nice kitchen scale. It is battery operated, digital, and it can easily convert measurements from ounces to grams. It is really easy to use although slightly intimidating at first.

Mix the dry ingredients together. I used my kitchenaid mixer, but I was just being lazy. This is really simple to mix by hand. Combine the eggs, oil, and only 1 tbsp. of the water, mix to break up the eggs. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and add the wet ingredients, slowing mixing in the dry mixture. As it forms into a dough, determine if it is too dry and add a tiny bit more water. Roll out onto a prepared surface to roll out. My go to method for rolling out gluten free dough is to use wax or parchment paper on the bottom and plastic wrap over the top.

Pasta Dough
This dough looks manageable enough, right?

When I took the pasta making class at Healthy Living, I rolled out all the dough but I thought it would be easier to divide it in half. You have to get it really, really thin so it becomes huge on the counter. Sometimes there is simply not enough space.

I was really excited to use Stacie’s pasta maker, but I was not successful. When I tried to feed the dough through the machine, it wouldn’t work. The machine shredded the dough. Maybe I need to watch a video on how to use a pasta machine, but I think that perhaps the gluten free dough doesn’t enough elasticity or strength to stick together while going through the machine.

Pasta Maker
Can someone teach me how to use this thing?

I was disappointed but soldiered on to roll out the dough by hand and cut thin strips with a sharp knife. You can use a ruler to get precisely straight and even strips or use a pizza cutter. Make sure the strips are well floured.

Pasta in Progress Pasta

I cooked three servings in gently boiling water. The pasta puffed up quite a bit–so the lesson is to roll it out as thin as possible. When you think it is super thin, guess what, you need to roll it out even more.

Pasta Cooking

After draining, I added pesto and roasted garlic to the pasta. I didn’t realize that the homemade pesto in the freezer was garlic shoot pesto and not basil pesto. Oops. I really should not have added the extra roasted garlic to it.

This was totally worth all the work. Delicious. I couldn't even tell it was gf!
This was totally worth all the work. Delicious. I couldn’t even tell it was gf!

I sealed the uncooked pasta (about 2-3 servings) in a ziplock bag and stuck it in the freezer.

I will definitely do this again! Let me know if you try it or if you have a homemade gluten free pasta recipe to share!

4 thoughts on “Gluten Free Pasta

Leave a Reply

