Spring Rolls

Spring Rolls
Sorry for the crappy photograph. I had to use my old iPod Touch to take it because the screen on my iPhone was all cracked, and I was trying not to use it.

I made these spring rolls about a month ago for my book club meeting. We always try to make food related to the book. This time, we had read a novel about a woman who crashes onto a deserted island. On the island, there are a few chickens that roam around. So, I made chicken-veggie spring rolls with a peanut dipping sauce.

This was my first time using rice paper–what fun! These were triangular shaped, and it took a few moments for me to figure out how to fill and roll. I had to dip the wrappers into hot water to soften them up, and then I laid them out one at a time on a cutting board and filled them up. The filling consisted of red pepper, spicy hot pepper, cilantro, carrots, garlic, and ginger.

I made these again last night, but this time I FRIED them, easily making something really healthy into something fattening and awful for you. Oh well, they tasted really good. Last night I made a yummy dipping sauce with peach jam, soy sauce, rice vinegar, and ginger.

Leave a Reply

