Lunch at Leunig’s

I met a friend for lunch in Burlington the other day. We had wanted to get tacos at El Cortijo but they were closed for cleaning. We walked down the street to Farmhouse Tap & Grill, but that was closed too. It was a cold day, but we thought we might like to try The Monarch and the Milkweed, which is located where Pacific Rim used to be. (Oh my gosh, I loved Pacific Rim.)

I looked at the menu at Monarch and the Milkweed and noticed several red flags. I asked the girl at the register about gluten free options. She hemmed and hawed. After going back and forth a few times, I point blank asked her if the cook could make something safe for me. She said she could go down and ask him. We walked out. If a restaurant doesn’t have a set policy for providing safe meals for people with food allergies and intolerances, it isn’t worth eating there.

We wound up at Leunig’s and it was delicious and super easy to order a gluten free meal. They even have a gluten free menu. I ordered salmon–it was beautiful and I didn’t get sick. Yay for Burlington! Yay for restaurants that plan ahead and offer food for everyone!

Leave a comment